Increase font size
Decrease font size

Staff Directory

We hope you are successful in locating the answers to your questions on the pages of this website.  If you have questions not addressed on this site, please use the link to the left to “Ask the Experts” a question.  To find our location, our hours of operation, and our phone and FAX numbers, click “Contact Us” above.  One of our Client Services staff will answer your question or direct your email or call to the appropriate area. Or, visit us during our office hours.

Associate Provost,
Director, Office of Scholarships and Student Aid, and
Director, James M. Johnston Awards Program

 Shirley A. Ort


Deputy Director

Phillip K. Asbury


Senior Associate Director

Tabatha Turner Need-Based Aid Processing and Compliance


Associate Directors

Michael McDuffie Summer School Financial Aid
Dan Thornton Merit-Based Scholarships
Ann Trollinger Carolina Covenant and Study Abroad


Assistant Directors

Dee Allsbrook Operations
Kristin Anthony Federal Direct Loan Programs
Andrew Brockway ConnectCarolina Financial Aid Technical Processes
Susan Brooks Kenan-Flagler MAC & MBA Programs
Jackie Copeland Client Services and NCAA
Vanda Chou UNC School of Law
Mary E. Daniel IT Environment Enhancement & Support
Sheila Graham-McDonald UNC School of Medicine
Aesha Greene Graduate and Professional Programs
Eric Johnson Communications
Anna Kerns Kenan-Flagler Online MBA Program
Michelle Klemens Federal Work-Study and Employment Programs
Holley Nichols Scholarships
Gwen Norwood Accounting
Heather Shinpaugh ConnectCarolina Financial Aid Functional/Technical



Gwen Norwood Assistant Director / Accountant
Evelyn Ross Accounts Payable
Alpa Vaghani Funds Management


Carolina Covenant

Shirley Ort Director
Ann Trollinger Associate Director and Program Administrator
Erika Elaine Glander Counselor
Fred Clark Faculty Advisor and Academic Support
Michael Highland Academic Support


Client Services

Jackie Copeland Senior Assistant Director
Precious Barnes Financial Aid Counselor
Lois Douglass Financial Aid Counselor
Shana Smith Financial Aid Counselor
Jamal Ward Financial Aid Counselor



Eric Johnson Assistant Director


William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan Program

Kristin Anthony Assistant Director
DeAnne Allison Direct Loans Systems and Loan Coordinator


Federal Work-Study and Employment Programs

Michelle Klemens Assistant Director
Thomas Harper Work-Study Payroll


IT Environment Enhancement & Support

Mary E. Daniel Manager
Brian Edwards IT Specialist


Need-Based Aid Processing

Tabatha Turner Senior Associate Director
Sam Chhorm Student Financial Aid Services Specialist
Sue Clough Student Financial Aid Services Specialist
Tori Forte Student Financial Aid Services Specialist
Kim Bold Student Financial Aid Processor
Jennifer Kusnyer Student Financial Aid Processor


Office Management

Susan Sabiston Assistant to the Director



Dee Allsbrook Assistant Director
Sheena Jacobs Applications Coordinator
Cindy McGee Applications Coordinator


Scholarships Administration

Dan Thornton Associate Director
Holley Nichols Assistant Director
Sharon Beers Outside Scholarships and Grants Manager


Summer School Financial Aid

Michael McDuffie Associate Director